Verona

Verona, the city in the northern Italian Veneto region, is known for its medieval old town and as the setting for Shakespeare's "Romeo and Juliet".
The Arena - a 1st century amphitheatre - regularly hosts very well-known open-air opera festivals.

For Verona you will also find many addresses for Enjoyment and culinary highlights in the Slow Food guide "Osteria d'Italia“*.

Due to the proximity of the Lake Garda you have city and recreation in close proximity.

Organizational matters
Arrival

Verona is very easy to reach by all means of transport.

Arrival by car:
Coming from Germany there are actually 2 main routes to Verona:
1. via the Brenner Pass through Austria (often restrictions in detail)
2. via Switzerland (I like it better to drive less used due to motorway tolls and relaxed due to speed limits)

By train:
Here it is definitely worth playing with the timetable. For example, there is a direct connection (without change) at 20.10 o'clock from Munich, which arrives the next morning. Interesting here is the "Comfort Ticket Nightjet" which includes 1 bed in one compartment in 1st class and even includes shower/WC, seat reservation and breakfast in the deluxe version. Surely a possibility to make social distancing a little easier. With the economy price Europe cheap to Italy! Book now online at bahn.de.*

By plane:
There are flights to both Verona and Milan (another hour train ride to Verona).

I prefer to fly with Lufthansa (Discover the world with Lufthansa.)* or Swiss (Discover the world with SWISS!)*, who at least after Verona work here with Air Dolomiti. The approach to Verona - depending on the wind direction - directly over Lake Garda is spectacular with the small planes. Booking directly with the airline saves me trouble with rebooking or cancellations.

If you are looking for something cheaper, you can buy it at kiwi .

Car rental at the airport...
...currently there are favourable early booking rates from Sixt. Up to 25% discount - rent now!*

Airport parking...
...doesn't always have to be expensive. I have good experience with the valet service of Airparks (Airparks 5€ early booking discount)* .

Accommodation

I only want to give recommendations on hotels that I can judge. In this respect I recommend the new 5-star boutique in Verona  Hotel NH Collection Palazzo Verona*. Centrally located and from the outside - as so often in Italy - not yet revealing what awaits you inside. In my eyes one of the new top hotels in Verona. Here it makes sense to register with the nh-rewards before booking to get the member rates.

Otherwise you will find more hotels in the desired category here on Tripadvisor.*

Activities

Besides the described tours, there are many possibilities to dive into the dolce vita. I recommend to have a look at the offers for Verona or Lake Garda at getyourguide. Here you can not only avoid queuing in small groups or as a private guided tour, but also get an insight through "Locals". Recommendable guided tours are: Verona: Guided tour through the arena - ticket without queuing*, Verona: culinary tour with wine tasting* or just the Verona tour as a private tour*.

Wine

You will notice after a short time that you are in a culinary hotspot of Italy. With the wines it is the different Lugana, the Custoza or with the red wines e.g. the Amarone. You will find all these wines in an extensive selection here at Wine Trade Italy.

I hope I could arouse your interest!? Read more about Vallegio sul Mincio or my day trips:

To Sirmione, BardolinoMount Baldo...good food at the Locanda Belvedere or to Verona.

See here what else we can find on the Lake Garda ...to do something about it. To navigate easily, you can always look for Region search.
no matter whether Black Forest or Palatinate - here you will find what you are looking for.
Or just look at my Highlights on.

You want regular reports on my shopping, Excursions , RecipesRestaurant- or Hotel tests to keep up to date? Then sign here in my Newsletter distribution list a...

Examples of other activities: Kinzigtal Cycle PathMurg valley cycle track 1Murg valley cycle track 2Hiking in the Black ForestShort trip Amsterdam, Romantic time out in Venice and so on

* Links marked with a * are so-called affiliate links. If you click on them and thereby a booking, a purchase or a certain action comes about, I will receive a commission. There are no additional costs for you. For the link itself I do not receive a commission.

Verona

Verona, die Stadt im norditalienischen Venetien, ist bekannt durch ihre mittelalterliche Altstadt sowie als Schauplatz von Shakespeares „Romeo und Julia“.
In der Arena – einem Amphitheater aus dem 1. Jahrhundert – finden regelmäßig sehr bekannte Freiluft Opernfestspiele statt.

Für Verona findest Du ebenfalls viele Adressen für Genuss und kulinarische Highlights in dem Slow-Food  Führer „Osteria d’Italia“*.

Durch die Nähe zum Gardasee hast Du Stadt und Erholung in unmittelbarer Nähe.

Organisatorisches
Anreise

Verona ist mit sämtlichen Verkehrsmitteln sehr gut zu erreichen.

Anreise mit dem Auto:
Aus Deutschland kommend gibt es eigentlich 2 Hauptrouten nach Verona:
1. Über den Brenner durch Österreich (häufig Einschränkungen im Detail)
2. Über die Schweiz (mag ich lieber, da durch Autobahngebühr weniger genutzt und durch Tempolimit entspannt zu fahren)

Mit dem Zug:
Hier lohnt es sich durchaus etwas mitdem Fahrplan zu spielen. So gibt es auf der Seite der Bahn z.B. eine Direktverbindung (ohne Umstieg) um 20.10 Uhr ab München, welche am nächsten Morgen ankommt. Interessant ist hier das „Komfort Ticket Nightjet“ welches in der 1. Klasse 1 Bett in einem Abteil beinhaltet und in der Deluxe Variante sogar Dusche/WC, Sitzplatzreservierung und Frühstück beinhaltet. Sicher eine Möglichkeit das Social Distancing etwas einfacher zu betreiben. Mit dem Sparpreis Europa günstig nach Italien! Jetzt online auf bahn.de buchen.*

Mit dem Flugzeug:
Es gibt hier Flüge sowohl nach Verona als auch nach Mailand (noch eine Stunde Zugfahrt bis nach Verona).

Ich fliege am liebsten mit Lufthansa (Mit Lufthansa die Welt entdecken.)* oder Swiss (Entdecke die Welt mit SWISS!)*, die zumindest nach Verona hier mit Air Dolomiti zusammen arbeiten. Der Anflug nach Verona – je nach Windrichtung – direkt über den Gardasee ist mit den kleinen Maschinen spektakulär. Die Buchung direkt über die Fluggesellschaft erspart mir Ärger bei Umbuchungen oder Stornierungen.

Wer’s etwas günstiger sucht, kann z.B. bei kiwi nachsehen.

Mietwagen am Flughafen….
…aktuell gibt es günstige Frühbuchertarife von Sixt. Bis zu 25% Rabatt – Jetzt mieten!*

Parken am Flughafen…
…muss nicht immer teuer sein. Gute Erfahrungen habe ich mit dem Valet-Service von Airparks (Airparks 5€ Frühbucherrabatt)* gemacht.

Unterkunft

Ich möchte nur Empfehlungen zu Hotels geben, die ich beurteilen kann. Insofern empfehle ich in Verona das neue 5-SterneBoutique  Hotel NH Collection Palazzo Verona*. Zentral gelegen und von außen – wie so häufig in Italien – noch nicht preisgebend, was einen innen erwartet. In meinen Augen eines der neuen Tophotels in Verona. Hier macht es durchaus Sinn, sich vor der Buchung bei den nh-rewards anzumelden um so die Mitgliederraten zu bekommen.

Ansonsten findest Du weitere Hotels in der gewünschten Kategorie hier auf Tripadvisor.*

Aktivitäten

Neben den beschriebenen Touren, gibt es viele Möglichkeiten in das dolce vita einzutauchen. Ich empfehle einen Blick auf die Angebote für Verona oder auch den Gardasee bei getyourguide. Hier kannst Du in Kleingruppen oder als private Führung nicht nur das Anstehen vermeiden, sondern erhältst einen Einblick durch „Locals“. Empfehlenswerte Führungen sind: Verona: Führung durch die Arena – Ticket ohne Anstehen*, Verona: Kulinarische Tour mit Weinprobe* oder einfach nur der Verona Rundgang als private Tour*.

Wein

Du merkst bereits nach kurzer Zeit, dass Du in einem kulinarischen Hotspot Italiens unterwegs bist. Bei den Weinen sind es die verschiedenen Lugana, der Custoza oder bei den Rotweinen z.B. der Amarone. All diese Weine findest Du in einer umfangreichen Auswahl hier bei Weinhandel-Italien.

Ich hoffe ich konnte Dein Interesse wecken!? Lies hier mehr über Vallegio sul Mincio oder meine Tagestouren:

Nach Sirmione, BardolinoMonte Baldo, eingutes Essen in der Locanda Belvedere oder nach Verona.

Sieh hier, was wir noch alles am Gardasee unternommen haben. Um einfach zu navigieren, kannst Du immer auch nach der Region suchen.
Egal ob Schwarzwald oder Pfalz – hier wirst Du fündig.
Oder sieh Dir einfach meine Highlights an.

Du willst regelmäßig über meine Ausflüge , RezepteRestaurant– oder Hoteltests auf dem laufenden bleiben? Dann trage Dich hier in meinen Newsletterverteiler ein….

Beispiele für weitere Aktivitäten: KinzigtalradwegMurgtalradweg 1Murgtalradweg 2Wandern im SchwarzwaldKurztrip Amsterdam, Romantische Auszeit in Venedig usw.

* Links die mit einem * markiert sind, sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links. Wenn Du diese anklickst und dadurch eine Buchung, ein Kauf oder eine bestimmte Aktion zustande kommt, erhalte ich eine Provision. Dir entstehen dadurch keine Mehrkosten. Für die Verlinkung selbst erhalte ich keine Provision.